2019 Annual General Assembly

The Annual General Assembly of the Nigeria Conference of Women Religious (NCWR) and Conference of Major Superiors of Nigeria, CMSN (Men) was held in the Daughters of Divine Love Retreat and Conference Centre, DRACC Abuja from 13th to 19th of January 2019. The opening Mass was presided over by His Eminence, John Cardinal Onaiyekan, the Metropolitan of Abuja Ecclesiastical Province while the closing Mass was presided over by the Apoatolic Nuncio to Nigeria, His Excellency, Most Rev. Antonio Guido Filipazzi, accompanied by His Excellency Most Rev. Hillary Dachelem, CMF.

The Theme of the Annual General Assembly was, "The place of Consecrated Persons in the present day Nigerian Politics". Most Rev. Hilary Odili Okeke, Bishop of Nnewi Diocese presented a paper to us on the theme. The Assembly, at the end of its meetings, came up with a communiqué which was issued on January 18, 2019.

During the 2019 Annual National Assembly members of a new leadership team of the Conference were elected on January 16, 2019 to lead the Conference for the next three years. The members of NCWR National Executive Council thus elected are:

Mother Mary Claude Oguh, IHM, President (Sisters of the Immaculate heart of Mary, Mother of Christ Heart of Jesus), Mother Annastasia Dike, DDL, Vice President/1st Councilor (Daughters of Divine Love) Sr. Grace Onaivi, SON, 2nd Councilor, (Sisters of Nativity), Sr. Augustina Efuneshi, OSBJL, 3rd Councilor (Oblate Sisters of St. Benedict Joseph Labre), Sr. Micheline O'Donnel, RSC, 4th Councillor, (Religious Sistersof Charity), Sr. Justina Nwaobi, NES, 5th Councillor (New Evangelisation Sisters of Mother of Perpetual Help)