Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception

Augustinian Sisters of the Mercy of Jesus

Founded, Date/Place 1847, Scotland (UK)
Foundresses Adelaide Vaast and Veronica Cordier
Canonical Status Pontifical
Motto My God, My all
Charism Simplicity, Poverty, Humility and Metanoia
Mission Statement Following the vision and hope of our Foundresses, we willingly answer Christ’s call to respond to the needs of the Local Church particularly in its pastora sercices to the poor and the needy
Purpose To educate young women in all ramifications
Vocational centers sewing, catering etc. Communication and Secretariat, Youth apostolate, Art and many other fields
Location of Generalate Scotland
Location of formation House/s Inisa and Awe in Oyo

Sr. Christiana Akpah OSA
Provincial Superior: Rev. Sr. Mary Benedicta Onatunji, OSF

Franciscan Provincialate
23rd Street
First Unity Estate

Mobile: 08035847022, 08059375440


Our Apostolate

Who are we?
The Franciscan sisters of the Immaculate Conception is a religious Congregation and an institute of Pontifical Right founded in 1847, in Glasgow, by Sister Adelaide Vaast and Sister Veronica Cordier who came from the Franciscan monastery of Our Lady of the Angel, Tourcoing. Sister Veronica was left as the sole foundress after Sister Adelaide's premature death from cholera.

The Congregation was established in Glasgow as an apostolic institute and follows The Rule and Life of the Brothers and Sisters of the Third Order Regular of St. Francis. As sisters in the Franciscan penitential tradition, we commit ourselves to live out our profession of Chastity, Poverty and Obedience, in community ever striving for a fuller expression of our baptismal call to conversion.

In the Light of Immaculate Conception
Franciscan and Marian Spirituality are joined and lived in the spirit of St. Francis at the request of Pope Pius IX, who approved our first constitution in 1854, the year in which the Dogma of the Immaculate Conception was proclaimed. Therefore, we honour our Blessed Lady in her Immaculate Conception as our special PATRONESS and are known as Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception.

Charism and Spirituality
As Franciscans, the essence of our charism and spirituality lies in our commitment to a life of continuous conversion and renewal, the fundamental Franciscan values of conversion, contemplation, poverty and minority lie at the heart of our spirituality. In our approach to God's people, hospitality will be a special mark of the service we offer.

Franciscan Sisters in Nigeria
The Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception came to Osogbo, Nigeria in 1950. Their first house was opened in Isale-Aro convent, Osogbo, the old Oyo Diocese and now Osobgo Diocese. They were charged with the development of education in schools, vocational training of young girls and training college. In the course of the years, the mustard seed planted by four missionaries sisters has now grown. We began in one diocese: now we are found in many dioceses like:

Osogbo Diocese: Osogbo, Inisa, Ejigbo

Oyo Diocese: Awe, Oyo

Ibadan ArchDiocese: Igbo-ora

Lagos ArchDiocese: Ojo-Alaba, Okokomaiko, Badagry, Lekki

Abeokuta Diocese: Ayetoro

Issele- uku Diocese: Ogwashi-uku, Asaba

Warri Diocese: Warri, Umutu

Minna Diocese: Mokwa

We are into different apostolates/fields like: Medical, Educational, Pastoral and catechetical work,

Our Sisters

  1. Sr. Margaret Mary Oniwinde
  2. Sr. Mary Josephine Obi
  3. Sr. Mary Anne Monye
  4. Sr. Mary Bernadette Ihu
  5. Sr. Maria Francesco Azuh
  6. Sr. Mary John Etah
  7. Sr. Mary Cecilia Ojetunde
  8. Sr. Mary Catherine Oke
  9. Sr. Francis Mary Adigun
  10. Sr. Carmel Mary Akinbuli
  11. Sr. Maria Goretti Doghudje
  12. Sr. Mary Kizito Adeniji
  13. Sr. Mary Clementina Obembe
  14. Sr. Immaculata Owhotemu
  15. Sr. Mary Perpetua Adelakun
  16. Sr. Mary Elizabeth Akinlotan
  17. Sr. Mary Consolata Famoyin
  18. Sr. Mary Clare Odebunmi
  19. Sr. Mary Gloria Akeme
  20. Sr. Mary Pauline Famoriyo
  21. Sr. Anthonia Mary Asayoma
  22. Sr. Anne Marie Joshua
  23. Sr. Henrietta Mary Eziashi
  24. Sr. Mary Anastasia Obatolu
  25. Sr. Stella Maris Fadamiro
  26. Sr. Joan Mary Chukwurah
  27. Sr. Mary Rita Ogunleye
  28. Sr. Mary Agatha Ahana
  29. Sr. Augustina Mary Adeleke
  30. Sr. Mary Esther Adeyemi
  31. Sr. Mary Theresa Aluko
  32. Sr. Mary Benedicta Onatunji
  33. Sr. Victoria Mary Ogunwande
  34. Sr. Consolata Mary Ojemeh
  35. Sr. Rita Maris Onah
  36. Sr. Maris Stella Adetuberu
  37. Sr. Maria Assumpta Marizu
  38. Sr. Mary Patricia Ikokwu
  39. Sr. Mary Anthoinette Okoche
  40. Sr. Mercy Ajayi
  1. Sr. Cecilia Mary Adache
  2. Sr. Mary Felicity Ighofose
  3. Sr. Mary Jovita Obiakor
  4. Sr. Mary Henrietta Fawole
  5. Sr. Deborah Mary Arung
  6. Sr. M. Celine Onafowope
  7. Sr. Anne Mary Mogaji
  8. Sr. Lilian Mary Ojiaku
  9. Sr. Mary Nancy Ikeji
  10. Sr. Mary Francisca Ajibola
  11. Sr. Mary Eunice Ikufisile
  12. Sr. Elizabeth Mary Oni
  13. Sr. Mary Queenet Chinakweze
  14. Sr. Mary Veronica Leo-Okon
  15. Sr. Veronica Mary Ibitara
  16. Sr. Mary Evelyn Yande
  17. Sr. Clementina Mary Akinyosotu
  18. Sr. Mary Gemma Aliozor
  19. Sr. Luciacordis Ebuzoeme
  20. Sr. Felicity Mary Aghoghovia
  21. Sr. Mary Florence Ogah
  22. Sr. Augustina Marie Akinwale
  23. Sr. Elizabeth Maris Kudaisi
  24. Sr. Mary Magdalene Adedokun
  25. Sr. Catherine Mary Banjo
  26. Sr. Anne Maria Uba
  27. Sr. Jane Frances Nwadike
  28. Sr. Regina Marie Akanbi
  29. Sr. Mary Juliana Akadri
  30. Sr. Mary Francesca Igwekalor
  31. Sr. Elizabeth Maris Otenaike
  32. Sr. Mary Justina Ochieze
  33. Sr. Victoria Marie Ogunyemi
  34. Sr. Lucy Maris Afolayan
  35. Sr. Mary Sylvia Mbagwu
  36. Sr. Anthonia Marie Jegede
  37. Sr. Mercy Agbamu
  38. Sr. Mary Cordelia Osita
  39. Sr. Anthonia Maris Akinwale
  40. Sr. Francisca Marie Okorugbo

Number of Sisters in Temporary Vows – 10


  1. Rev. Sr. Mary Patricia Okonmah
  2. Rev. Sr. Mary Augustina Fabule
  1. Rev. Sr. Rita Mary Ekeh